I Am Missing The Simpson’s Marathon

Here’s the problem:  I do not have cable or any television reception and I am extremely bummed that I am missing The Simpson’s marathon.

Here’s why that is ridiculous:  I own the first 9 seasons…sooo….I could be doing the marathon independently for quite a while before experiencing any angst over missed episodes.

Weird truth:  I really want to be in my jammies experiencing this thing like it is some big cultural event, like people watching the moon landing.  I want to be a part of it.

What should have happened:  There should be some local bar or ice creamery where I can sit and chill with a bunch of other nerdy fans and talk about how great it is that Bart is not really stuck in a well.

Drawbacks:  I don’t want them to see me in my jammies and all that beer and ice cream will not work for me after a few episodes and then I will be sad because I will miss the episodes that I actually have never seen.

Solution:  Everything is fine.

Fun Fact:  I am still bummed that I am missing the marathon.  Whatever.

2 thoughts on “I Am Missing The Simpson’s Marathon

  1. Sorry you’re missing it. I’m missing huge chunks of it, but I was able to catch a handful of episodes yesterday. Episodes that hadn’t been in the syndication rotation in quite a while.

    It’s interesting observing how people are sharing their memories about the early seasons on Twitter. People on my twitter feed talk about how scandalous it was that their parents let them watch The Simpsons when it was still a new show, or they reflect on how some pop culture phenomena faded away in the years since a particular Simpsons episode aired.

    I saw the episode in which Homer went to space and thought that Abe’s remark that, “It’s TV, of course he’ll be OK!” seemed comparatively naive in a post-9/11 world. It was one of those moments that was funny and sad. Kind of like this post, which was really funny, and also sad.

    But it is kind of like a collective experience, like our professors always said about the old days of broadcast, happening right now, and I’m sorry that you’re missing it. I’m missing most of it. I’ll have to settle for the occasional tweet from somebody I follow: I’ll watch them watching it and claim a part of it that way.

    Like

    1. You bring up a good point. There are not as many shared narratives anymore, whether we are talking about books, television, etc. This is not strictly positive or negative. I really do appreciate the proliferation of options, the ability to select the types of stories that mean most or are most interesting to me. I also appreciate that having lots of viable stories that appear in those mediums allows for more people employed in creative endeavors and potentially, for more diversity.

      That said, I lament the loss of connection and community that can come from having stories in common with others. We sort of get this with things like viral videos, memes, what have you, but it is not quite the same. Why do I need to be able to talk about The Simpsons with a stranger? I don’t know. But I do. And I guess that in a strange way, us talking about missing the marathon (or large chunks of it) is still a way of connecting to the event.

      Like

Leave a Reply

